Qualified. Experienced. Reliable: View my online CV

16 November 2012

Frank Skinner, David Walliams and Micky Flanagan team up for new Saturday night show on BBC One

It was announced today that multi-award-winning comedians, David Walliams, Frank Skinner and Micky Flanagan will work together for the first time on a new 8x50 min Saturday night comedy-entertainment show for BBC One.

I Love My Country will see two teams of well-known British faces from the worlds of sport, entertainment and music, led by Frank Skinner and Micky Flanagan, battle it out in a contest of who knows the United Kingdom best. The show will also feature live music courtesy of a house band fronted by multi-MOBO Award winning singer-songwriter, Jamelia.

A co-production between Avalon Television Scotland and Netherlands-based Talpa, I Love My Country was commissioned by Danny Cohen, Controller, BBC One; Alan Tyler, Executive Editor, Entertainment Commissioning; and Mark Linsey, Controller, Entertainment Commissioning. The series will be directed by Peter Orton (Harry Hill’s TV Burp) and produced by Spencer Millman (Harry Hill’s TV Burp), while the Executive Producers are Richard Allen-Turner, Jon Thoday and Toby Stevens.

“I Love My Country is a funny, boisterous and shamelessly competitive celebration of the United Kingdom, with the perfect host and captains at the core. David, Frank, Micky and Jamelia have a terrific chemistry and we are delighted to be bringing the series to a BBC One audience."

Alan Tyler

I Love My Country is based on the Dutch TV hit of the same name created and produced by Talpa, the company of media entrepreneur John De Mol.

The show is set to transmit in early 2013.


Dan Wainman is not affiliated or associated with any broadcaster, programme maker, production team or television personality, unless stated or if advertising Free Audience Tickets on Lost In TV's behalf. All other materials are general press releases, news statements or public content, shared with any followers of this blog. Any personal opinions are those of the blog posts author.